Letter to the Editor

Reader submissions regarding The AS Review's coverage and issues in Western's community.

Letter to the Editor: student demographics story is misleading
January 7, 2014

This is in regards to your “Freshmen Class Ushers in More Representative Demographics” article from Nov. 12. Several of the quotes and comments are fairly offensive, to students of color

Letters to the Editor

Write a letter or response to the editor of The AS Review

Letter to the editor: supporting the Water Bottle Initiative
May 14, 2012

Recently there was an initiative in the Associated Students Elections addressing the sale of bottled water on campus. As the results have not yet been released, I am unsure of whether it has passed

What the pop? A response
April 30, 2012

Normally I read the columns and the paper with light-heartedness. It is interesting to see what kind of topics the editors and writers pick to tease apart with freshly-learned journalism skills to

Letter to the Editor: Response to letter on dining hall “fiesta dinner” cancellation
May 31, 2011

Editor’s note: On May 23, we published a letter from Western student Sean Guynes regarding the cancellation of the “fiesta” themed dinners in university dining halls. Guynes

What the pop?

What the pop? YouTube, KittyTube, BieberTube
May 14, 2012

Kittens are absolutely adorable, jumping out of boxes, yawning and, ya know, existing. I’m allergic to cats, but thanks to YouTube, I, too, can go “daaawww” when I watch a kitty

What the pop? Tosh.0
May 7, 2012

Tosh.0 is the most-watched program on Comedy Central. Yeah, I wouldn’t have guessed either. Daniel Tosh, Tosh.0’s host, tours across the United States with a stand-up comedy act, often

What the pop? Yoga pants, yo
April 30, 2012

Yoga pants are freaking everywhere, every single which way and where. What started as a specific style for a specific activity has blown up to become a bonafide fashion trend. Visiting my parents

Simply delicious

Simply delicious homemade peanut sauce
May 14, 2012

Lately, I feel that most of my cooking columns have centered around sweet foods. Cupcakes are wonderful, but now it’s time for a savory food. Last week, I had stir-fry and rice, which was

Simply delicious: sweet potato fries
April 30, 2012

Lately, whenever I go to a burger joint I’ve noticed there’s a common replacement for regular fries: sweet potato fries. They’re similar to regular fries, but with a kick of

Simply delicious: cookie monster
April 23, 2012

On Monday night I decided to make cookies for the AS Review staff. My roommate gave me a recipe for brown sugar cookies, and this inspired me to take a whack at cookie making. Here’s my story.

Reader Submissions

Stories and columns submitted by AS Review readers

Ravenna Woods
May 14, 2012

After a long day of classes, exams, and one of the Humans Versus Zombies missions, I was only expecting to relax and play cards at the Underground Coffeehouse the evening of May 9. Of course, I had

Beyond Borders review
May 14, 2012

For the next two weeks, the Viking Union Gallery is hosting the talented works of art students from all over the West Coast, as part of an annual exhibit.

Understanding intersections
April 30, 2012

Intersections are points in time or space where multiple things are joining together, and for the next few weeks, the Viking Union Gallery is the focus point for multiple intersections.

Top 10 of the week

Interesting names
January 23, 2012

Blue Ivy Carter was born on Jan. 7, 2012 to Jay-Z and Beyonce Knowles. The proud parents came up with the unique name citing

Top 10 things to do during the National Basketball Association lockout
November 14, 2011

1. Watch the National Football League. Instead of waiting around for NBA games that might not happen, gather

The smashing of pumpkins
October 31, 2011

Halloween involves a lot of cleanup, especially in Bellingham. While candy wrappers and empty cans can be tossed or recycled, the iconic Halloween pumpkin poses a more difficult disposal.

A Christmas column

Buying all the things
December 5, 2011

In the past, Black Friday shoppers have been pushy, rude and even violent. In 2008, a Walmart employee died when shoppers

It's a hard 'nog life
December 5, 2011

Eggnog is not a four-letter word. During my childhood, my family never spoke of it. The mere mention of the

Holiday cheer: It's exhausting
December 5, 2011

From Black Friday to Christmas Eve, I am employed as a Santa’s Helper – not an Elf – at the Nordstrom on

The Om(nom)nivore's Dilemma

A weekly column for cooks on a college budget

The Om(nom)nivore's Dilemma: The Grand Finale
June 6, 2011

Well, everyone, I’m sorry to say that we’ve made it to the end. To finish off the year, I polled friends and readers to ask what they would want for the final Om(nom) and several

The Om(nom)nivore's Dilemma: Seriously Huge Pretzels
May 31, 2011

  Dead week is upon us once again, and you all know what that means: stress baking! That’s right—when the big projects start looming over my head and I hear the sound of