Features

A haunting in the 'Ham

October 27, 2014

Every Halloween children dress up like little witches and goblins and stroll around their neighborhoods collecting treats from homes of strangers. What’s even spookier than that is the fact

Squawk! Squawk! Goes the dead parrot

October 20, 2014

With no preparation, no script, no rehearsal, improv performers step on stage and shout out, “What’s on my hand!?” Without missing a beat, the audience screams out, “Bees!

Show! The Show the new sketch comedy show

October 20, 2014

Show! The Show, formerly known as You Would! is part of KVIK, Western’s AS filmmaking office, which also offers opportunities to produce news programs through VTV and short films of all

Clayton Beach: A climb by the bay

October 13, 2014

It was while sitting at the top of our last problem of the afternoon, watching the sun dip down toward surface of the bay, that I lamented the coming cold and rain of fall and the many late nights

Who is Western President Bruce Shepard?

October 13, 2014

A typical day in the life of Western President Bruce Shepard usually begins around 6 a.m. “I love to roast my coffee beans, so every morning I’ll make two double lattes,” Shepard

Transcend preconceived notions of gender

October 13, 2014

“Transcendence,” an exhibition of twelve portraits by photographer Jess T. Dugan, will be on display in the Viking Union Gallery starting Oct. 8-31. This exhibition has been brought to

Western club promotes body positivty

October 6, 2014

Two and a half years ago, Western junior Rebecca Rivero found herself losing track of time and surfing the internet late into the night. Her travels through the web led her to a very dark corner of

JSA: A cultural learning experience

October 6, 2014

The Japanese Student Association’s first meeting was swamped with more than 60 new participants Monday, Sept 29 in Miller Hall 17. “JSA is still a new club right now, but we’re

Jack White takes on solo album, Andrew Wise takes on Jack White

June 24, 2014

At this point in his musical career, Jack White has built up enough critical and popular acclaim to be fearlessly experimental and bold with his projects. In many ways, his fearless experimentation

Hidden spots: All the secret places around Bellingham you need to know about

June 24, 2014

Locust Beach Where: On the side of Locust Avenue Bellingham, Washington. What: A sandy beach on the Northern end of Bellingham Bay, this is a great place for hangouts, kickbacks and bonfires. Skim

Explore the new trails of the Chuckanuts

June 24, 2014

If Western had a nickel for every time one of its students bragged about the natural beauty of Bellingham, we might be able to afford to build a chairlift from campus to the top of Oyster Dome. But

Parents: What to do with them

June 24, 2014

Even though you’re new to town, your parents probably think you’re an expert at everything involving Bellingham because you’re now living here. When they visit, they will probably

Roommates: Gotta love them

June 24, 2014

One small room, two twin beds and another person to share that space with. Welcome to the dorm life. If you have never met your roommate before you might find yourself Facebook stalking them and

Associated Students Board of Directors: Welcomes you to Western

June 24, 2014

Our new elected board is already preparing for the year to come! We’ve asked four of the seven members on the AS Board of Directors a couple of questions to help incoming students get to know

Tips for the sun deprived: How to survive Bellingham's rainy and cloudy days

June 24, 2014

Bellingham gets an average of 157 sunny days per year, according Bestplaces.net. But what do you do about the other 208 non-sunny days? For the sunshine-loving students, Bellingham’s cloudy

Western students offer advice to new Vikings

June 24, 2014

Current freshmen to incoming freshmen The transition

That's soo Western: Eight quirks that reflect Western

June 24, 2014

Have you ever walked through Western’s campus, saw something eccentric and you thought to yourself: That’s sooooo Western? Probably. So, we’ve compiled a list of things that are

Did you know...? Western fun facts

June 24, 2014

While the beautiful nature of Western’s campus charms the Western community and greater community alike, it’s filled with facts and secrets that aren’t known to all.Western Student

The Besties: The Best of the AS Review

June 2, 2014

Volume 29 of the AS Review is wrapping up, so we took the time to review some of our best content of the year. We present to you: The Besties. 

Political Science Association connects students and faculty

June 2, 2014

Discussing thousands of political issues on a strong politically motivated campus can be tough, but there is one organization that has tried to unify Western’s political community. We sat down