Features

The Besties: The Best of the AS Review

June 2, 2014

Volume 29 of the AS Review is wrapping up, so we took the time to review some of our best content of the year. We present to you: The Besties. 

Political Science Association connects students and faculty

June 2, 2014

Discussing thousands of political issues on a strong politically motivated campus can be tough, but there is one organization that has tried to unify Western’s political community. We sat down

Manatee Commune gets ready to rock summer music festivals

May 27, 2014

Western sophomore Grant Eadie is the force behind Manatee Commune, a local band that’s about to play some pretty big stages. Eadie is set to perform at Capitol Hill Block Party and

Meet Babes: Man’s best friend is also man’s savior

May 27, 2014

When a cream-colored Labradoodle runs through campus enthusiastically greeting students, Western senior Cort Anderson trails behind, grinning at his best friend as she puts smiles on people’s

The AS Elections: What’s behind the decline in voter turnout?

May 27, 2014

Every spring, the Associated Students holds elections to determine who will sit on next year’s AS Board of Directors. The seven members of the board are the elected representatives of the

“We’re hilarious and we can’t help it” What it’s like as a woman in the male-centric world of comedy

May 27, 2014

The comedy world is no longer a boys-only club. Women comedians are taking over the stage, television and… Western? Almost. Western

Onyx Coffee Bar: The best coffee shop in Bellingham?

May 19, 2014

Located at 1015 Railroad Ave, placed in an area that one could only describe as a “hole in the wall,” lies Onyx Coffee Bar. My favorite kind of place in a town is the one that is

Western men’s track team wins third straight title: Our writer takes you inside the 2014 GNAC track championship

May 19, 2014

Track and field often makes very little sense to those who have never been a part of the sport. Actually, there are days when it doesn’t make much sense to those of us who have committed

Artist Lenny Moore invites you to [Insert Text Here]

May 19, 2014

If you’ve been in the Viking Union Gallery in the past three weeks, you may have been confused, intrigued or even, like several students, wondered if it was a still work in progress. The show

Why that catcall isn’t a harmless compliment: An in-depth look at slut shaming

May 19, 2014

As the weather heats up, the rain coats get stashed away and everybody rushes to dig out those summer clothes. Suddenly there are T-shirts, sun dresses, bro tanks, jorts and flip flops as far as

From Cairo to Bellingham: Exchange student competes in DECA, explores dance and works to start medical nonprofit in Egypt

May 12, 2014

When Mark Maximos arrived at Western, he was wrapping up a nearly 7,000 mile journey. The 22 year old is an international student from Cairo, Egypt who left home for the first time last year to

Caught cruising: The changing state of longboard law

May 12, 2014

The low rumble and skips of longboards are a loud part of the soundtrack to life at Western. Whether you’re cruising from one end of the campus to the other or bombing down Indian Street

The most interesting professor: Professor Christopher Sands

May 12, 2014

He once studied Canada, just because he felt like it. He once was given a job offer by Republican Sen. John McCain of Arizona, but he turned it down. He shares sushi with Japanese Prime Minister

Western's hidden gems: A secret cabin, ropes courses and more

May 12, 2014

Harry Potter had the Weeping Willow and the Chamber of Secrets at Hogwarts. Andrew “Ender” Wiggin had the battle room during practice sessions at Battle School. The kids in Halloween

The Western Bucket List: What do you want to do before you graduate?

May 5, 2014

Shiffite Awel, freshman

Q&A with New York Times bestselling author Staceyann Chin

May 5, 2014

On April 24, prominent spoken-word poet Staceyann Chin visited Western for the annual Associated Students Women’s Center event Take Back the Night. In an event supercharged with emotions

Surviving the mob: A week with Humans vs. Zombies

May 5, 2014

I don’t own a Nerf gun. Sorry, Nerf blaster. I think I might have had one when I was small, but the darts were probably lost within a week or two and it eventually floated out on a garage sale

Spend a lunch in Peru: Cafe Rumba

April 21, 2014

Located on 1140 North State Street, Café Rumba may not seem like anything more than your average restaurant from the outside, but what’s waiting inside is a goldmine of flavor and

“Lover of Clothes” Student’s fashion blog gains massive following

April 21, 2014

Delighted by fashion bloggers and interested in the content they were producing, Western junior Delaney Knight embarked on a journey of creating her own blog and transforming it into a heavily

KVIK brings student filmmakers together

April 15, 2014

Despite the fact Western doesn’t have a filmmaking program, what started in 2002 as Western’s Television Broadcasting Club was later transformed the following year into the Associated