Lindsay Kucera

The Om(nom)nivore's Dilemma: Sweet wheat bread & vanilla-honey butter

February 28, 2011

Column and photo by Lindsay Kucera/The AS Review This bread is modified from one of my favorite, most reliable baking books. The original recipe was for rustic bran & cracked wheat bread,

The Om(nom)nivore's Dilemma: Tortilla Casserole

February 21, 2011

Photo and column by Lindsay Kucera/The AS Review Enchiladas are one of my favorite entrées in this whole wide world and I simply cannot get enough of them. So, when I was introduced to this

The Om(nom)nivore's Dilemma: Pizza Margherita (senza glutine)

January 17, 2011

Photo and column by Lindsay Kucera/The AS Review I dare someone to tell me that they don’t like pizza. Even if someone did, we all know they would be lying. Everyone loves pizza. It’s a

The Om(nom)nivore's Dilemma: Twice-Baked Potatoes

January 10, 2011

Photo and column by Lindsay Kucera/The AS Review Comfort food is one of those things we should probably cut out of our diets, but let’s face it, we most likely never, ever will. Comfort food may

The Om(nom)nivore's Dilemma: Spicy Penne Pasta

December 6, 2010

Column and photo by Lindsay Kucera/The AS Review This recipe is one my mother started making a few years ago, and it has become a staple in our family since. It has just enough spice to warm

The Om(nom)nivore's Dilemma: Pocket Pumpkin Pie

November 22, 2010

Column and photos by Lindsay Kucera/The AS Review Okay gang, Thanksgiving is upon us and to me that means one thing: pie. I love pie. I love pie so much I can’t even convey to you how much I

The Haunting of Bayview Cemetery

October 25, 2010

Photos by Daniel Berman/The AS Review Story by Lindsay Kucera/The AS Review Considered to be one of Bellingham’s most haunted sites, Bayview Cemetery is certainly a foreboding place.

The Om(nom)nivore's Dilemma: Killer Caramel Popcorn

October 25, 2010

Stories and photos by Lindsay Kucera/The AS Review "Eat me!" it seemed to say. Killer Caramel Popcorn This is your only warning: Don’t make this by yourself! If you do, you

Senate and House candidates face off

October 18, 2010

Lindsay Kucera/The AS Review Campaigning for U.S. Senate: Murray versus Rossi The incumbent: Patty Murray (prefers Democratic Party) Born in Bothell, Wash., Patty Murray has served

The Om(nom)nivore's Dilemma: Sesame Chicken and Broccoli

October 18, 2010

Article & Photo by Lindsay Kucera/The AS Review Seriously, who doesn’t enjoy take-out? (If you don’t, maybe you should just read through the rest of the paper again while I write about how

Bearing witness to tragedy: Ethical reporting in a violent world

October 11, 2010

Lindsay Kucera/The AS Review Photo courtesy of Joan Connell & Dart Center for Journalism & Trauma This week, the World Issues Forum will be hosting Joan Connell,

The Om(nom)nivore's Dilemma: Fried Chocolate Wontons

October 4, 2010

Lindsay Kucera/The AS Review Fried Chocolate Wontons We don't condone eating a whole bowl of these, but sometimes, you just can't help yourself. Earlier this week, I went to a

The Om(nom)nivore's Dilemma

September 27, 2010

Spicy Chipotle Sweet Potato Oven Fries with Aioli Lindsay Kucera/The AS Review Well gang, it’s that time of the year again!  With the fall season comes the chaos of school, moving in and

A path to global justice

September 27, 2010

Lindsay Kucera/The AS Review Since 1967, Fairhaven Interdisciplinary College has been a beacon of alternative thought and study for Western’s student body. Tucked in the woods of south campus, the

The Om(nom)nivore's Dilemma: Gobi Aloo

May 23, 2011

Gobi Aloo!...Gesundheit! Lindsay Kucera/The AS Review This past week, it was brought to my attention that I only have three Om(nom)nivore columns left, including this one. What a sad, sorry

The Om(nom)nivore's Dilemma: The Grand Finale

June 6, 2011

Well, everyone, I’m sorry to say that we’ve made it to the end. To finish off the year, I polled friends and readers to ask what they would want for the final Om(nom) and several

The Om(nom)nivore's Dilemma: Seriously Huge Pretzels

May 31, 2011

  Dead week is upon us once again, and you all know what that means: stress baking! That’s right—when the big projects start looming over my head and I hear the sound of

The Om(nom)nivore's Dilemma: Thai peanut noodles

April 11, 2011

Get your nom on!/p> Photo and column by Lindsay Kucera/The AS Review Thai peanut noodles I don’t think I need to sell you on how fantastically scrumptious these noodles

The Om(nom)nivore's Dilemma: April is Grilled Cheese Month!

April 18, 2011

As the old saying goes "If you can dream it, you can put it between two slices of bread and grill it." At least, that's how the old saying should go. Photo and Column by Lindsay

The Om(nom)nivore's Dilemma: Spring Galette

May 9, 2011

Lindsay Kucera/The AS Review A few weeks ago, a student named Veronica Spaulding stopped by the AS Review office and shared a great idea with me, which I’m going to share with you!

The Om(nom)nivore's Dilemma: Happy Pi Day!

March 14, 2011

Mmmm, math. Photo and column by Lindsay Kucera/The AS Review That’s right people, March 14 is π Day! And what better way to celebrate than with delicious, single-serving

The Om(nom)nivore's Dilemma: Baked Button Doughnuts

May 16, 2011

And the Om(nom)inee is... Lindsay Kucera/The AS Review Okay, I admit it. These aren’t shaped like doughnuts. They’re also too big to be doughnut holes, primarily because I

The Om(nom)nivore's Dilemma: Trouble-free Truffles

February 14, 2011

Scrumptious: (adj.), very pleasing, especially to the senses; delectable; splendid. Photo and Column by Lindsay Kucera/The AS Review Chocolate connoisseurs the world over tout the

The Om(nom)nivore's Dilemma: Chipotle Black Bean Dip with Homemade Tortilla Chips

February 7, 2011

This OM-is-da-bomb-NOM Photo and column by Lindsay Kucera/The AS Review This recipe was born primarily from my desire to have fresh tortilla chips. You know how delicious those are

The Om(nom)nivore's Dilemma: Greek Lasagna

January 31, 2011

I nom, you nom, we all nom for Om(nom)! Photo and column by Lindsay Kucera/The AS Review Trust me, lasagna is a dish to love, not to fear. I like to think I am not afraid to try

The Om(nom)nivore's Dilemma: Pesto breadsticks

November 8, 2010

Column and photos by Lindsay Kucera/The AS Review

The Om(nom)nivore's Dilemma: Pumpkin Pancakes

January 24, 2011

Column and photo by Lindsay Kucera/The AS Review