What is the AS Student Senate?


The AS Student Senate serves as the legislative body of the Associated Students of Western Washington University and is comprised of 21 Senators from the eight Colleges on campus, as well as from the general student population. The Student Senate is not limited in the scope of issues it covers, and these issues can originate from the ASBOD, other Associated Students offices, University committees, within the Senate itself, or directly from students. The Student Senate has the ability to draft, approve, and release resolutions on any issues brought before it. The Student Senate will also approve any changes to the charge and charter of the AS Election Board. Overall, the Student Senate will be part of a bicameral system in the AS, acting as a separate body from the ASBOD. For a visual explanation watch this video.


When and where does the Student Senate meet?


The Student Senate has bi-weekly meetings on Tuesdays in VU 567 from 6:30-8:00 PM. Upcoming meetings for the Student Senate are February 25, 2019 and March 11, 2019, with meeting days pending change during Spring Quarter 2019. Meeting materials for AS Student Senate meetings can be found here.


Who are my Senators?


Each College on Western’s campus has two Student Senators who represent the interests of the students within their College. If you are an undeclared major, there are four At-Large Senators who represent the interests of all students on campus, primarily those who have not yet declared a major at WWU.

Below are the 2018-2019 Student Senators:



Nicole Ballard

Adah Barenburg

Tatum Buss

Courtney Yoshiyama


College of Business and Economics:

Jona Akelipa

Nick Makrakis


College of Fine and Performing Arts:

Ruth Ewald

Paden Koltiska


College of Humanities and Social Sciences:

Luke LeClair

Laura Meerdink


College of Science and Engineering:

Nina-Tuyen Tran

Kelly Yokuda


Fairhaven College of Interdisciplinary Studies:

Dayjha McMillan

Sarah Soulliere


Graduate School:

Phillip Hensyel

Anna Schorr


Huxley College of the Environment:

Riley Embly

Maya Noesen


Woodring College of Education:

Nicole Wood


Interim Senate Pro-Tempore:

Levi W. Eckman


Please feel free to reach out to your Student Senators or the Interim Senate Pro-Tempore with any questions, concerns, or ideas!