In light of the most recent recommendations from the CDC to limit the size of all social and public gatherings, along with the Governor’s March 23 "Stay Home, Stay Healthy" order for the State of Washington, the Viking Union will be closed to the public until further notice. For more details on this temporary closure of the Viking Union, and any other coronavirus related information, please visit WWU’s coronavirus resource site

Student Senate

What is the AS Student Senate?

The AS Student Senate serves as the legislative body of the Associated Students of Western Washington University and is comprised of 21 Senators from the eight Colleges on campus, as well as from the general student population. The Senate is not limited in the scope of issues it covers, and these issues can originate from the AS Executive BOD, other AS offices, University committees, within the Senate itself, or directly from students. The group has the ability to draft, approve, and release resolutions on any issues brought before it. They also approve any changes to the charge and charter of the AS Election Board. The Student Senate is part of a bicameral system in the AS, acting as a separate body from the AS Executive BOD. For a visual explanation watch this video.

ASWWU Student Senate Bylaws

ASWWU Student Senate Charge & Charter

All of the AS and VU Policies can be viewed here

When and where does the Student Senate meet?

The Student Senate has bi-weekly meetings. Meeting materials for AS Student Senate meetings can be found here.

Who are my Senators?

Each College on Western’s campus has two Student Senators who represent the interests of the students within their College. If you are an undeclared major, there are four At-Large Senators who represent the interests of all students on campus, primarily those who have not yet declared a major at WWU.

What are my Senators responsible for?

ASWWU Student Senator Job Description

2020-2021 Student Senators


Jasleen Kaur

Jasmine Fast

Sameer Shorab

Alex Park

College of Business and Economics

Selam Swier

Connor Johnson

College of Fine and Performing Arts

Aidyn Stevens

Kharma Stambaugh

College of Humanities and Social Sciences

Yessica Perez

Althea Frye

College of Science and Engineering

Ankur Handa

Olivia Chatters

Fairhaven College of Interdisciplinary Studies

Kara Henry

Marissa McGinnis

Graduate School

Samia Quidwai

AP Wang

Huxley College of the Environment

Laura Wagner

Francis Neff

Woodring College of Education

Kendrick Jackson

Elizabeth Rosales

Senate Pro-Tempore

Sargun Handa

Please feel free to reach out to your Student Senators or the Senate Pro-Tempore with any questions, concerns, or ideas!